Kandy, the Capital of the Ancient Kings

Kandy is the second largest city in Sri Lanka. It was the last capital of the ancient kings’ era of Sri Lanka, hence the title. The city is famous for tea plantations and is situated in the midst of hills. Kandy is also famous for being the home to the Temple of the Tooth Relic or the Sri Dalada Maligawa. This temple was declared as a world heritage site in 1988 and is one of the most sacred Buddhist temple.

Kandy lake at the city center is a famous place to take a stroll and relax at. It is surrounded by shop lots and busy roads but one can still have a moment of peace as the location itself is pleasant.

My next stop was the Royal Botanical Gardens, Peradeniya, which is about 5.5KM away from Kandy city. It was a huge place with an even bigger variety of orchids. I’m always fascinated by trees (as I am with mountains, islands & birds 🙂 ) and was excited to see some unique trees that I’ve never seen any where else. I would say spending about half a day here is a good enough plan. Sitting & relaxing or walking around and being amazed by the variety of flora here.

DSC_0683DSC_0666DSC_0680

The road trip or drive to Kandy was something I really looked forward to from Hatton (where I stayed throughout my Sri Lanka trip) but in reality, to be honest, it did not disappoint nor did it make me awfully happy. It would have been a different case altogether had I set-off to the land of lions on my usually wonderful wanderlustering.  My trip to Sri Lanka, specifically to Kandy was on a social visit to accompany my cousin sister to pay respect to her new in-laws’ family. I wish I had spent longer time there as I am sure I could have explored more. No regrets or worries though because I do intend to visit Sri Lanka again when I can & the next time around, its going to be purely wanderlust…. like how it’s always is and should be, at least for me.

Till we meet again, keep wanderlustering & wanderluster safe.

Cheers.